Professor Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman Scholarship in the Department of Pharmacy

On Tuesday, 18th June, 2019 Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman Scholarship Program was organized by the Department of Pharmacy, UAP, sponsored by Ex-Pharmacy Students’ Association (EPSA) of UAP. The program was chaired by Prof. Dr. Swarnali Islam Khandaker, Head of Pharmacy Department, UAP. Mrs. Habibur Rahman was present as the Chief Guest. Prof. Dr. Mohiuddin Ahmed Bhuiyan and Mr. Md. Mahbubul Haque, Secretary of Bangladesh Pharmacy Council and were present as special guests. Prof. Dr. Md. Selim Reza, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Dhaka, other distinguished members of EPSA and faculties of Pharmacy Department, UAP were also present. After a brief description reflecting the memorable life events of Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman, Prof. Md. Selim Reza spoke about his intimacy with him from cadet life and later as colleague in both Dhaka University and UAP. Prof. Dr. Mohiuddin Ahmed Bhuiyan, Chief Adviser of EPSA, mentioned in his speech that Prof. Habibur Rahman had wonderful contribution in pharmacy education as well as pharmacy profession. He also mentioned that it is pride for UAP to provide scholarship in the name of Prof. Habibur Rahman. Md. Mahbubul Haque, President of EPSA, shared his priceless experiences with Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman as his teacher and colleague in Bangladesh Pharmacy Council and explained why EPSA decided to continue the Scholarship Program.

Everyone in their speech emphasized Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman’s contribution to this university and his vital role in establishing the Department of Pharmacy. The scholarship was rewarded to twelve meritorious students of six consecutive batches from 35th to 40th for their highest grades in ‘Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics’ courses since Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman was an expert on this field and will always be in the hearts of all his students in this university. In the concluding speech Prof. Dr. Swarnali Islam Khandaker noted her memories as a student of Prof. Rahman and thanked the Department and EPSA for the initiative to introduce and continue such scholarship. The president of EPSA also proposed to name the Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics Laboratory of the Pharmacy Department in the honor of Prof. Dr. Md. Habibur Rahman.